top of page

Women of Japan (3) : Satomi

Tout de suite Elle a ouvert La porte de sa maison

[English below - 以下の日本語]

SATOMI Celle qui pense avec un grand paysage

(Avec ses parents et sa sœur dans la maison familiale à Asari)

Satomi m’a contactée dès que j’ai diffusé mon annonce pour trouver des modèles, c’était tellement encourageant pour moi. On ne voit pas bien son visage sur mon dessin ! J’étais tellement plongée dans l’instant que je n’ai pas réalisé que je devais changer de place. Je voudrais la dessiner une deuxième fois !

Satomi a 37 ans, elle est ergothérapeute et elle a travaillé 2 ans et demi en Afrique. « Je travaillais dans un hôpital au Gabon depuis 3 mois. Tous les jours, une patiente criait quand je m’approchais d’elle. Un jour j’ai compris qu’avec ma peau blanche, j’étais peut-être un fantôme à ses yeux. Mama Singui m’a donné cette découverte : tu es étrangère, tu dois découvrir et respecter notre culture. Cette femme était très malade, elle ne parlait pas, mais elle m’a donné un grand enseignement ».

 

SATOMI The one who thinks with a wide landscape (With her parents and her sister in the family house in Asari)

Satomi contacted me as soon as I made an announcement to find models. It was such a good start for my project. You can’t see her face well on my painting ! I was so deeply immersed into the moment that I did not realise that I should move place. I would like to draw her one more time ! Satomi is 37, she is an occupational therapist and has worked in Africa during 2 years and a half. « I had been working in a hospital in Gabon for 3 months. Every day, one of the patients would scream whenever I approached her. One day I understood that I might look like a ghost in her eyes because of my white skin. Mama Singui was very sick, she couldn’t talk, but she gave me this discovery : you are a foreigner here, you have to discover and respect our culture. She taught me a big lesson. »

 

里美

大きな景色で物事を考えている彼女

(彼女の両親、姉と朝里の実家にて)

里美さんは私がモデル募集を始めるやいなや連絡をくれました。このプロジェクトの好調な出だしとなりました。残念なことに私の絵では彼女の表情があまりわかりません!私は深く没頭していたこともあり、場所を変えた方がいいことに気づかなかったのです。機会があれば、もう一度彼女を描きたいと思っています。

里美さんは37歳、作業療法士であり、アフリカで2年半働いたことがあります。

「私は3ヶ月以来ガボンの病院で働いていた。毎日とある患者の女性が私が近づく度に叫んでいました。ある日、それは白い肌である私が彼女にとって幽霊のように写っていることが理由だとわかりました。ママ・シンギは重病で、話すことすらままなりませんでしたが、ここでは私が外国人であり、彼らの文化を理解して敬意を払うこと、ということに気づかせてくれました。彼女は私に大事なことを教えてくれたんです。

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle

LATEST POSTS:

CATEGORIES:

TAGS:

TAGS:

WHO AM I ?

I’m Florence, a Belgian artist temporarily living in Sapporo on Hokkaido island, in the north of Japan. This blog is dedicated to my japanese travels, artworks & projects.

TAGS:

bottom of page