top of page

How to become a model for the women of Japan project ?


The women of Japan project is still on ! I am preparing a new exhibition in Sapporo on March 31st and in Tokyo in April, as well as working on the book project. And I'm still looking for new models !

Are you interested in joining the project ? Here are some answers to some of the questions you might have.

  • Who can participate ?

It's very easy. You just need to be a woman of Japan and willing to exchange. You are welcome to join the project regardless of your age, story or looks, wheter you are very talkative or shy, a Japanese woman living in Japan, a Japanese woman living outside Japan or even not Japanese but living your life in Japan ! Feel free to contact me.

  • What will I have to do ?

My work has 2 parts : a very open interview and a sketching session.

- For the portrait, I will ask you to chose where and how you want me to draw you (at your home, your job, a place that makes sense for you or that you find beautiful, with someone or alone, doing a daily activity or something you like...). I can also draw a sketch that focuses on your face and integrate elements connected with your story in the background.

I will do a rather quick sketch and take a few pictures so as to complete the colours later at my home.

- For the interview, I ask my participants to share with me about who they are in a very open interview. You can feel free about what you would like to share or not. I'm also interested in how you see women's place in Japanese society, this part being answered anonymously.

  • How long will it take ?

It's good to count about at least 2 hours for the interview and 1 hour for the portrait quick sketch. We can do it at once or meet twice. I usually start with the interview.

  • What language should we use ?

I speak French, English and Italian. So if you want to do the interview in Japanese, I will look for an interpreter.

  • Do I have to live in Sapporo ?

I sometimes organise trips so as to meet women in other places. I will be in Tokyo around April and I will be planning a trip to Kyoto/Kobe as well, and probably Hiroshima (the dates are not fixed yet). If we are not able to meet because of the distance, we can make the interview with skype or line and I can sketch you after a photo. So if you want to join, we can always find an option!

  • What will you do with the portrait and interview ?

The portraits will be shown in exhibitions and/or on my blog. Some exhibitions are in Japan and there will be some later in Belgium too. I will write a short and a long text based on our interview. I will ask you to review them before. The texts and portraits will also be used for a book written in French.

If you have any "secrecy" issue, we can discuss it and find the best solution.

If you have another question or would like to join, please contact me through this link ! it will be my pleasure to meet you !

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle

LATEST POSTS:

CATEGORIES:

TAGS:

TAGS:

WHO AM I ?

I’m Florence, a Belgian artist temporarily living in Sapporo on Hokkaido island, in the north of Japan. This blog is dedicated to my japanese travels, artworks & projects.

TAGS:

bottom of page